• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Bought myself a project! 1997 M1081

seanwmurph

Hello, this my first post and I'm excited to be here!

I somewhat impulsively bought a 1997 Stewart and Stevenson M1081 with the hopes of getting this thing setup as a phenomenal off road camping rig, while respecting it's origins as best I can.

I know the newer models don't have the same historical significance of the older Deuce's, but I'm hopeful to still find a helpful online community as I know very little about these trucks... I'm a practicing Mechanical Engineer so at least I have that going for me.

Here's a couple photos attached. Transportation to my home in California has been arranged, and I expect to be seeing it for the first time in a few days!

Attachments

Last edited:

Karl kostman

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Sean congrats on the truck it looks like you have a good solid base to start on! As far as the historical side of the Deuce yes you are right but on the other hand you have a lot more user friendly versatile vehicle here and the parts needed to repair are going to much more common while you are on the road, there are CAT dealers all over the US along with Allison dealers so in my eyes your much further ahead with the 1081! The truck should give you many years of very good service. ENJOY

dmetalmiki

Welcome to the site and the hobby, Age?, It's and Army truck. If you don't think so, watch the neighbors expressions when you go to the local supermarket.
And,,,the..children. :carnac:

NDT

Steel Soldiers Supporter