• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Brake Drum headache!

Section8

Ok! Here it is!
I am either really stupid or the brake drums are freaking welded on the axle!
I have my driver side front tire off my rig for a paint stripping and re finish.
So I figured I would check my brakes while I had the tire off. Well be ****ed if I can't get the drum off the axle!!
I have beat the thing to death with a sledge and it aint moving!!
Am I missing something here?? Is the drum part of the, center hub, for lack of a better description, since I am new to this.
Am I going to have to pull that center cap/flange apart as well just to pull the freaking drum off to check my brakes every time I need to service the brakes!!
Or is the drum just REALLY stuck?!?
Does anybody have an exploded view diagram of the axle/hub assembly I could use as reference!!
Other wise the dent in my fender is gonna get bigger the more I hit my head on it in frustration!!
Any help would be great!!

gimpyrobb

dumpsterlandingfromorbit!
Maybe the pads are too close to the drum for you to get it off. Have you tried backing the pads off a bit?

Section8

The drum spins freely by hand with the axle jacked off the ground so I figured the pads must be backed off enough. Could give it another look tomorrow. Are the studs part of the drum? Or is the studs a part of the axle and the drum is drilled to allow the wheel studs to pass through?
I doused them in WD-40 at any rate. Can't hurt!:confused:

NDT

Steel Soldiers Supporter
You need to take the drive flange off and remove the wheel bearing nuts. Then the hub and drum will pull off in your hands. You may have to back off the brake shoes.

Section8

Razzle frazzen zarg barg a ding dong!!!