• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Changing all 4 belts.

darksoldier305

So today I'm attempting to change the belts on my 1990 m998. It looks like I need to pull the fan assembly off to replace them. I've looked through the manuals and all I could find was adjustments not what actually needs to come off to do the job. I'm new to humvees I just got it last week and I'm not that car savey but am pretty quick at catching on. Any advice from you fellas that have been messing with these trucks for a long time would be appriciated.

darksoldier305

It looks like most guys do that but I'm unsure. It looks like the fan is connected to the pully outside the shroud. I assume but can see that it's also going to be connected inside the shroud.

infidel got me

You can slide them over the fan. Disconnect hydraulic line from fan clutch and slide em' in. Have a few rags handy to clean up all the blood (you will be cut) You can pm General Hood about changing any ft. eng/water pump related work as he has had his apart 6 or 7 times in the past few weeks. Sorry G.H. had to throw that in..... lol

orgnal

So today I'm attempting to change the belts on my 1990 m998. It looks like I need to pull the fan assembly off to replace them. I've looked through the manuals and all I could find was adjustments not what actually needs to come off to do the job. I'm new to humvees I just got it last week and I'm not that car savey but am pretty quick at catching on. Any advice from you fellas that have been messing with these trucks for a long time would be appriciated.