• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Charging system woes

frontiersman

Hi all, I am a newbie to cucv trucks. Always wanted one, and 2 weeks ago finally got an m100 that came from camp shelby. Thanks to the immense knowledge base here, I was able to get the truck running great. It apparently had been kept up pretty good until decommissioned. Since day 1 when I turn the key on, there no lights that come on the dash. The 12v junction block looks busted, and at some point the military bypassed it. The 24v resistor bank is completely gone, and there is a lead coming from the jumper battery cable that supplies 12v to the glow plug relay. The entire harness for the glow plugs looks new, as well as the glow plugs. I did the doghead mod as well. All running lights work, and the dash illumination lights work. Here is my problem; the alternators are producing voltage, but the batteries die after several starts. I also have to "jump" the glow plug relay with a jumper wire to make it work. I am going to install a push button switch to solve that problem. A couple of questions: can the generator relays under the dash be bypassed, as well as the fabled gen idiot lights? I not concerned with keeping it all military stock. In theory could run a cable from the drivers side positive to the passenger side negative to achieve 24v charging? I really dont care if the idiot lights work, as I plan to install mechanical gauges. Also, the stock voltage meter does not work. Attached is a pic of the wiring mess I am dealing with. Thanks

Attachments

frontiersman

When referring from bypassing the generator relays and idiot lights, I was referring to running a cable between the 2 alternators. Also the truck is an M1008.

tim292stro