• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Cleaned tank and now won't go above 35mph

beetleswamp

On my quest to make my m1008 more respectable I decided to attack the gunk that was bogging things down when I got below 1/4 tank. Also had an issue with bogging when driving up medium size hills at highway speeds and hoping this would be cured as well.

Dropped the tank and put it back in, drove it to the end of the street and it died. Dropped tank and reinstalled again several times (I'm a freaking expert at doing it with a ratchet strap now) and did lots of stuff including;

replaced hoses
replaced clamps
took the cap off middle nipple on the sending unit cause it was making a vacuum
re-crimped electric lift pump leads
checked pink wire for clicky (yes)
opened water drain valve with engine running (engine stalled pretty quick)
removed fuel tank inlet screen
checked clear in-line filter for bubbles moving through (nope)
moved the tank into the bed and ran new lines
checked ip return for flow and it has occasional bubble
replaced square fuel filter
1/4" in-line filter between filer head and ip flows ok but goes to a trickle when idling
disconnected ip in-line after a stall and it sprayed fuel and air/ had lots of pressure

Now if I bleed the system before starting truck will cruise around the neighborhood at speeds less than 35 on flat ground but anything over that makes the idle unstable and gotta let off the gas or it dies.

I guess tomorrow morning I'll try and borrow my friends car and go to Hydra-Air Pacific and see what they have for spin-on filter/separators and mounts. If I leave the carter pump on it starts to leak out the back of the square filter bracket so i hope that's where the air leak is.