• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Could I pull a pop-up camper behind a M1009?

dc9137

I'm in the process of looking for an M1009 but am a little unclear about towing capacity. I have a pop-up camper that probably weights 2,500-3,000 lbs loaded. Would the M1009 handle it in a stock condition? If not, where is the weakness? Is it the tow pintle, axles, transmission, etc.? Thanks for the input!

dc9137

Thanks! I'm a total newbie with very little experience so I'm starting from scratch. TM's will be my friend. The closest thing I have to experience is PMing an AAV back in the day.

Matt65

I would add an electric trailer brake controller and receiver hitch. You may also need to add a compatible connection for trailer signal lights.

Last edited:

Goose2448

^^^True, since you want to tow a modern civiy trailer, Class 3 receiver, wiring, controller. The electric should not be hard since its the same as any other chevy pick up....er....wait they have horrible wiring. But nothing is hard with hard work and research.

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
400 Turbo with 3.08 gears spells heat. I would add a decent or larger tranny cooler to ensure long life for the 400 Turbo......and the other advice my associates have stated already.

Lagers4myhead

Well all the CUCV's have a built in transmission cooler right? If I understand things, the pintle hitch was a weak point because it wasn't very strong/well supported...yes, no?

Last edited:

Proud Army Dad

Welcome neighbor! I'm not new to automotive, but new to MV's...maybe we can scratch our heads with each other....Oh, shouldn't be a problem pulling a pop-up, might want to add an extra tranny cooler, just as you would on a civvy Blazer.

richingalveston