• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

CUCV M1010 Newbie here

KamikazeKunze

Hello all,
My first post here so be gentle.
I just scored a 1984 M1010 with 29k miles on it.
I have a metric ton of questions but I thought I’d start small.

1) I need tires does anyone know how large I can go without a lift? Also, do I have to worrie about wheel offset specifically in the rear?
2) What’s a safe top speed? I’ve only done 55mph and she sounds like that should be about it.
3) last owner painted it white, know where I can get original OD Green paint with out going broke?

thanks a bunch

Drock

Welcome ...33" tires are as big as you can comfortably go without a lift, and should be fine on stock rims. Safe top speed is 55MPH. The O.D. green paint is readily available, I see it on Ebay for around $60.00 per gallon delivered.

Last edited:

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Rear tire width is a major issue with the tenten. I have 255/85R16 tire on Ford 7" wide steel rims. They are about as close to the body as I am comfortable with. 255 is a little over 33". Pics of mine here.
https://www.steelsoldiers.com/showthread.php?175954-1984-M1010-CUCV-Ambulance

As far as paint, search Steel Soldiers for Behr paint. Lots of success stories using good exterior latex.

Last edited:

Drock