• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Deuce overheating help.

taylordc15

Let me start this by saying that I have no experience with big trucks and very little mechanical experience. That being said I have spent days reading through old posts and following the steps in the TM's.

I bought my truck in New Orleans from a private seller and drove it to Corpus Christi with no issues, shortly after getting here it overheated. I flushed the system and in the process discovered that the thermostat had been removed. Flushing did not help the problem so I put a new radiator in, installed a new thermostat and installed a coolant filter. The truck still overheats, the upper and lower radiator hoses have been replaced, I tried swapping water pumps but it is still running way too hot. Is there anything I am missing or should try?
thanks.

gimpyrobb

dumpsterlandingfromorbit!
NEW radiator or a different one? Any radiator I put in a truck I have hot tanked and ultra sounded. If you have a new radiator, I would think it would have to be the water pump.

taylordc15

It is a new radiator, the pump was a takeoff.
The first time it overheated, it really overheated, I was leaking fluid/steam. everywhere, everytime since I have based it on the gauge going up above 200.

Racky

I agree with massm35a2 and gimpyrobb. Does steam come out of radiator cap?
If not get a meat thermometer and stick it in the radiator fill to check against gauge in truck or you could use a laser thermometer and check the thermostat housing, engine block etc.

Racky

taylordc15

No steam from the cap, I have been pulling over and shutting down when it gets to around 220. Ill start looking for a thermometer.

thanks for the suggestions.

vtach

Steel Soldiers Supporter