• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Dewey MEP 531a running horrible

markgjsquires

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Recently purchased two 531’s. One had fuel lines removed. Replaced the lines. Fresh fuel and oil. Few cranks and runs great. second one did the same maintenance schedule to. Does not run so well. Will start and run but when manipulating throttle anything over half throttle it dies out spits sputters and smokes. I’ve checked oil level as many say affect it. It’s right in the middle. Fresh fuel and filter. New lines. but do not get any fuel from the return line. Is that common on these? Even the generator I have that runs good doesn’t show any in return line. Any ideas would be much appreciated. Thanks.

1800 Diesel

I'm still learning about these engines myself, but can offer a few things to consider.

1. Check the fuel plunger on the injection pump as it may be sticking a little. I've only seen these fully stuck and they have to be freed up. Since your engine is running at lower speeds, this could be a fuel metering issue.

2. If #1 doesn't apply, remove the valve cover to confirm valve lash and also verify both intake & exhaust valve are fully opening & closing.

3. If you haven't already done this, you should loosen the fuel line fitting on the injector and crank the engine over to confirm all air is bled from the line.

4. To confirm proper injector function (volume & spray pattern), you can remove the injector and reconnect to the high pressure fuel line (with the injector outside the engine). Then crank the engine over & observe injector function. (Caution: Don't get sprayed with the fuel mist!)

5. Check air filter and housing for any obstructions.