• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

disabled passenger

randini

I am seriously looking at a Deuce. The problem is my wife is disabled (bad knees). She needs a cane, sometimes a walker. I want to take her on rides. Anyone rig-up a step ladder to get into the cab? I can weld-up something, but maybe someone has covered this before. Thanks for your help!

wreckerman893

Possum Connoisseur
When I was an over the road driver I met a couple that rode together in a semi.
She was in a wheel chair and he had a lift on a boom that was attached to the cab.
He could pick her up and swing her into the cab through the passenger door.
The boom and small electric hoist folded up and was stowed next to the cab and did not stick out any further than the mirror.
I asked him if it was a professional job and he said that he and his brother had designed and fabbed it up.
You could prob rig something like that up for your better half. Since she is mobile it would prob be easy. It might be as easy as a fold out ladder.
With all the expertise we have on the site I'm sure someone can help you out.

swbradley1

Modertator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
After coming back from Haspin I'm thinking I'm going to need something like that just to get in and out of mine.

We discussed this once in another thread and WM hit it on the head. Small crane lift off the bed or a ladder.

sw

Stan Leschert

There are civvy portable steps available, for helping warehouse workers to get up to shelves. Some of them don't weigh much, and may work for your app. They are light enough for 1 person to put in the back of the truck. You will have to lash them to the side of the truck (for loading), just for the safety and confidence of your passenger.