• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

DT360 with spicer 5. Any good?

Section8

I didn't get any responses in my other post so I will try it this way. I have found a DT360 with spicer 5speed locally in a international 4700 truck. I was thinking of swapping it into the carcass of either a M135 or a M35a2. I am new to the MV scene so I am not sure about clearance issues or if this motor/tranny swap would be good. I know most M35a2s run with the spicer, no problems there but would need a good transfer case for the set up since the carcasses are bare bodies. Help and advice would be greatly appreaciatd since I am in desperate need of getting some OD green on the road.:driver:

rlwm211

Our company had a DT360 in a truck and we put well over a hundred thousand miles on it before I left with absolutely no issues. The truck was decent on fuel and really never caused any problems. Our truck ran down the road at around 20K gross. The engine was not a "powerhouse" by any means but a solid runner.

The tranny was solid as well. I am not sure of the brand transmission, but I would bet it was a spicer. You can get used M35 transfercases, but I think with a 135 you will need a transfer case from one of those trucks because of the driveline design in the rear.

Just my two cents

RL

mudguppy