• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Electrical Issues (alternators, headlights, etc.)

soldierman79

Gentlemen,

I am quite new to MVs and even less adept at electrical issues. I have found several solutions here and am very appreciative. Here are a couple of problems I am having and I'd really appreciate your input.

- First, neither GEN 1 or GEN 2 lights will light up. I've checked them and the bulb filaments are still intact so I assume they are still good. I also took a bit of sandpaper to the board to freshen up the connections and still nothing.

- Second, while running the engine, the batteries are getting the following voltages:

Front batt = 12.2 v (i assume the driver side alt is bad)
Rear batt = 16.9 v (seems really high to me)
Across both = 29.3 v

The voltmeter in the cab doesn't work either. I have both of the relays (the ones by the starter relay) on order from CUCV Electric.

- Third, the blinkers do not function unless the light switch is on (pulled out). Brake lights don't work even though I installd a new switch. I pulled the horn relay and there is a rattle in there so I assume it is bad. I'm going to NAPA to pick one up tomorrow. The headlights only work on low but not high, whether the fuse is in or not. I tried new bulbs and dimmer switch with the same results.

Any guidance would really be appreciated.

Last edited:

cpf240

Always start with fully charged and load-tested batteries.

First rule of CUCVs: "if its electrical, clean it" ( and "if its rubber, replace it" )

Take apart and clean every electrical connection you can find.