• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

From fire truck to MTV

aw113sgte

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Well my title and registration finally came through after two nail-biting months of waiting on the WI DMV. Did lots of research reading WI laws but seems some people still have problems registering and titling so it was a big unknown. For the past few months I've been fixing things as I had time.

I am a design engineer and just left the fire service so I needed to have a new project. Wife loves outdoors but hates the lack of comfort involved in camping. Normal RVs are boring and I have two boys that will be helping with the build process so they can learn some stuff school doesn't teach. Current plan is to put a 20ft shipping container on the back, keeping the tire and filter where they are.

Wanted maneuverability, parts availability, something not too much of a pain for the wife to drive, 4 season capable. Ended up buying an m1096 from Midwest Military Equipment. That was a mixture of good/not so good experience. The purchasing process and communication was very good, payment and delivery was quite easy. As I started inspecting stuff I started to run into issues and there was a long list...I'm sure I'm forgetting some.

1. The tires, stated as "395/85R20 Goodyear Super Singles 95% +" are date code 0714, meaning they have basically no life left based on age.