• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

General Coverage HF/SWL radio for camping

DesertDutchman

I am looking for a radio I can use for desert camping in my M105 project.
While it can me a transceiver (I am a Ham, KC7NRY) it could also be just a listening radio.....SSB would be a plus.
WHat's out there that I can find easily and it needs to be working??
Yes, I could buy a radio like this commercially, but I'd like to carry over the military theme as I am an Army Vet working for the DoD, and my wife is a retired Marine.

Ideas? Are there MIL SPEC antenna out there? I'd LOVE to run up a 20-30' vertical or a big sloper or dipole and counterpoise if needed. I'll be throwing down stakes for 3-4 days a month.....

tennmogger

Steel Soldiers Supporter
This is a challenging set of desires: transceiver, military, general listening (would need wide AM for AM broadcast, SSB for ham, maybe narrow bandwidth for CW). All that, and easily tunable. I don't know of such a radio either.

Most any military transceiver available today is channelized, that is, no big knob to tune around with. Just switches to turn or buttons to push to step through the frequencies one decade at a time. And, many of them are USB (upper sideband) only.

I went through this same selection process over the past 6 months. I ended up with a PRC-174 Israeli backpack. It does AM, USB, LSB, CW wide and CW narrow, covers 2 to 30 MHz, and that's a very rare combination in a decently priced transceiver. Note that that goofy band 11 meters is included, but I'd never use it there:wink: But, it has push buttons so you really need to know what frequency you want to operate ahead of time because 'cruising the bands' is totally impractical.