• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

General Mcgregor's Partial Restoration

Hey Fellas!

Well it's finally time, I start my 'partial restoration' today. My truck is really showing her age and is in dire need of a paint job. I have been researching the Behr paint jobs for the past two years and decided to give it a go. I already picked up my Wagner airless sprayer and will be picking up my paint next weekend.

The preparation will be the longest phase, the dropside is really crusty in a few spots but I plan on removing both sides and the tailgate to get into all the nooks and crannies. I have two angle grinders with wire wheel attachments that I'll use to knock the rust off, everything else will be scuffed up really good.

It's a 'partial' restoration because I probably won't paint much of the undercarriage and I'm still on the fence about the cab and the engine compartment. I am also trying to stay within a strict budget on this project so expensive surface prep probably won't be an option. I will also have limited time on the weekends to make this happen.

My fenders are pretty rough too and I elected to buy replacements instead of trying to patch them back up. Bought a set of NOS fenders from kubotaman yesterday and my new fender welts are on the way.

I'm sure I'll need lots of tips and advice along the way so anyone who has done this before feel free to chime in with your experiences.

Couple of questions.

1. What is the general consensus on thinning the Behr? I have seen some who will run it straight while others will thin with water.