• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Heads up to M1008 owners rear ubolts

cucvrus

006.jpg008.jpg007.jpgI just replaced the spring saddles on Mr Rusty. I looked at the ORD type when I bought the steering box reinforcement but the Stanley springs man said that will change the weight distribution of the rear springs. i thought about it for a while and said. OK what are my options. He sold me these cast replacements that still stay on the bottom of the springs. These are made of cast and do not have a place where debris can accumulate. I am not a spring expert. But when I look at lighter duty CUCV M1009 they have the spring plates on top and the others have it on the bottom. I think there must have been a reason for that. I was putting this back together with new springs front and rear and the customer was hauling coal and a plow so I followed the recommendations of the Stanley springs salesman. Your job looks good. Just thought I would mention this. I have changed a few of these because of rust. Most often on snow plow trucks and salt spreaders.

welpro222

Stanley springs man said that will change the weight distribution of the rear springs
That is interesting? There is always a reason why they do things the way they do. I don't thing I'll be loading this truck up to the max capacity as I am adding a 4inch lift at the same time.

CUCVRUS, What did you use for paint on your frame? Is it a rust stopping paint? It appears you had some nasty rust problem on the top of the frame. I plan on doing something for my frame as I have some rust forming on the rear section of my frame.

cucvrus