• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Heavy 200A alternator hanging off the cylinder head? (6.5L)

T9000

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Maybe this was discussed before and I couldn't find anything about it...I am not a mechanical engineer, but looking at the way the 200A alternator is attached to the driver side cylinder head (I am talking about the 6.5L, but maybe it's the same on the 6.2L), it doesn't feel right.
Statically the weight distribution could be OK as most of the weight could be taken by the lower bracket (#4), given that the 3 bolts (#9 & #10) on the cylinder head were tighten after bolts #1 and #16 under the alternator, on the bracket attached to the engine block. Either way there will be constant stress if the bracket is made slightly on one extreme of the tolerance, but if the 3 bolts (#9 & #10) are tighten last, any potential play around them will go towards alleviating the bracket push or pull stress instead of adding to it.

And dynamically, things appear a lot worse...if you look at the longer twisted bracket under the alternator, which is almost twice the length of the upper bracket and with only one support point vs three, it seems that it would have a lot more flex than the heavy bracket on the cylinder head, meaning that when driving over bumps and rough terrain, the alternator will try to bounce up and down (let's leave aside any longitudinal and lateral forces during accelerating, stopping and turning and focus just on the Z axis for now) due to its heavy mass and all the flex in the lower bracket (#4) will get transmitted via the 3 bolts (#9 & #10) on the cylinder head and get absorbed mostly by the front TTY bolts closer to the first 2 cylinders and maybe the third.