• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Help reeded with remaking an M5xA2 exhaust

Robo McDuff

In memorial Ron - 73M819
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Help needed with remaking an M5xA2 exhaust

As you can see, my exhaust is a bit kaput. Tried to find replacement in the Netherlands and here, no dice. So it will be a welding job. I thought to take several tube parts with bends in them, and then start welding them together, or just weld some sheet metal across it.

IMG_8520_resize.jpg IMG_8519_resize.jpg

Turns out my son, blacksmith by profession, has an old hydraulic tube bender capable to bend tubes up to 4 inches! The thing is too big and heavy to take to the Netherlands, but we have a suitable 9 cm heavy tube here as well so we can make a replacement exhaust.

From the pictures, it looks that starting at the engine the exhaust makes:
- a bit less than 45-degree angle outwards,
- then another bitt less than 45-degree backwards (my first hole in the exhaust
- then almost immediately 45-degrees upward- that's where the second part of alu-tape is, the hole is facing backwards and inwards.
- through the fender,
- and another 45 degree upwards into the last section: my third hole.

It looks that the exhaust is not going down straight forward through the fender, but already a bit turned toward the engine.

Can somebody help us with some dimensions on those turns or has a good picture from a complete replacement exhaust ? The picture from the parts manual is not very useful and reliable.

Last edited:

quarkz

Supreme Galactic Cleric
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Or use the search term exhaust in the want ads, there is a multifuel 5 ton vendor listed there.[thumbzup]

Robo McDuff

In memorial Ron - 73M819
Steel Soldiers Supporter