• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

HMMWV Question....

Jim Long

I purchased at auction a rolling chassis......
It has air lines running into the differentials.
What are these air lines for?
My only thought would be an upgraded air locker1686668606282.png

WillWagner

The Person You Were Warned About As A Child
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
I am no HMMWV expert, but, there is no air on one, AFAIK. Most likely something for fording, so water doesn't get into the diffs, axles, trans, t-case, etc. Probably goes into the intake snorkel somewhere.

Just a guess

BLK HMMWV

Does it have a fording valve in it . it would be located to the right of the steering wheel next to the dog house behind the e brake lever.
However they sometimes chop the fording valve out for some reason when de-milling so there may be a hole there and no valve.

jake20

The air lines are vents. During normal operation, it’s just an escape path for any pressure that builds when components get hot. When fording water and you have the switch flipped, the system is supposed to put a slight amount of positive air pressure into all components with a vent line connected.

This in theory will prevent water from entering components. In reality, I would still drain and refill the fluids after any deep fording, the system isn’t perfect. That being said, deep water fording is considered a military feature and the system is completely dismantled prior to sale.