• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

I accidentally joined a convoy the other day.

stranger75

I was on my way home from work this past sunday afternoon, driving my m1009, and happened upon a military convoy. I assume it was headed to Ft Campbell. There were about 20 or so humvees, some with trailers, a fuel truck, and a couple of larger six wheel trucks. I'm not very good at naming those on sight. The whole convoy was moving at about 55 mph, and I was going a little faster, with the flow of traffic. several of the soldiers I passed did double takes, apparently surprised to see a desert tan cucv driving alongside them. I waved. After I had passed about 3/4's of the column, I merged to the right to get to my exit, which would take me onto a local parkway that links I40 with I65 and I24. The convoy merged with me, and I ended up sandwiched between a couple of Humvees for about half a mile. I have to say it was a little odd being in that position, as I was driving an ex military vehicle, bearded and wearing a red t shirt, while they are actual military personnel, wearing BDU's and helmets. When I got the chance, I pulled out to the left, and continued to pass the rest of the column. I gave a wave and a little honk of the horn to the column leader, and went on my way.

I guess it really wasn't that unusual, but I thought some of you folks might like to hear that story. Thanks!

Maverick1701

very cool!

When I brought my M35 home from Odgen, UT I had a convoy pass me. It was pretty neat..everyone honked and waved...then we kept on trucking.

Westech

CPL
It may be neat but.... its kinda a no no to merge with a convoy. If your exit is coming up your best off staying behind it.