• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

I have been advised to bypass Slave Plug resistor on firewall behind shroud

Riverbend

Before I jump into this, I would like other opinions onnit being a necessary mod or not, and if possible pictures of the steps to take to avoid trashing something I shouldn'd.
I am New to diesels and still rahter timid at attempting work never done or sure about proper steps. I know there are many experts gere and if someone would help this butterfly(pun intended) become a diesel dragon, it will be greatly appreciated.
I'd rather now damage my new to me M1009 which seems to be in great shape to me.CUCV FRONT.jpgCUCV REAR.jpg

Lieutenant
Steel Soldiers Supporter
That resistor is for the glow plugs. There is no resistor for the slave plug. Unless you're having issues, leave everything as is.

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
I can see how someone would have related the resistor with the slave. Here's what you have. I can't explain how it works as I'm electrically ignorant. The resistor on the firewall steps 24V down to 12V to operate the glow plugs. If 1 glow plug fails, it increases the juice to the other glowplugs and the start failing in short order. The more that fail, the higher the juice and the shorter the remaining ones last. The military did it this way so that even with dead batteries, it could be slave started. Moving the source of power off the resistor and to the 12V side of the harness eliminates the possible overcurrent but limits the slave starting when the batteries are really low. At least that's how it has been explained to me!

ralbelt