• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Introductions and trailer ID

tom11919

I've finally registered after anonymously reading the forums here for a while and would like to say "hi". My name's Tom and I recently bought my own little bit of OD steel, an M101A1. Its a little beat up but gets the job done, and that's what counts. I've only really used it a couple of times in the month I've owned it; first was to haul 16 8' crossties (very close to the bumpstops and about all my '92 F150 wanted to handle; did alright as long as I kept it under 35mph), then some supplies for work (couple dozen bundles of stakes and rebar; I'm a land surveyor), and most recently, last weekend to help move myself and my roommates's stuff to our new house (which doesn't allow trailers in the driveway :evil: ). Might be the handiest thing I've ever bought! But I may be selling it already because I'm thinking about buying another trailer. This one appears to be in better shape, but I think it might be a M105. It doesn't look like it has the double parking brakes for the dump and does have the large landing gear with a single steel wheel. Is it worth $400? Even if I don't really have enough truck to pull it?

Attachments

tom11919

You know, the more I think about it, the less I think I ought to buy that other trailer. The only thing I have to pull it with that would make use of its capacity is a '67 F600. And it needs a clutch. The M101 seems to be a good fit with my current truck.

Now if anyone has a serviceable lunette for a M101, let me know; I'd love to do away with the ball hitch on there. :D

cbvet

Welcome Tom!
You're right, these old military trailers are really handy & tough.