• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M1009, first drive

robd

cucv2.jpgcucv3.jpgcucv4.jpgcucv5.jpgcucv1.jpg

My first steel soldier!

http://www.govliquidation.com/auction/view?auctionId=6395642

How did I do? Its about 100 miles from me, and the best price I've seen on a running one in a while.

Obviously needs some body work, buy I'm super excited.

Question though for you vets. What should I bring for / do to the truck to make sure it survives the 100 miles home. I'm no master mechanic, but I'm handy.

Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:

scoutdoors1000

Most will say do not drive it back.
IF you do....Batteries, Kick the tires, TIME and lots of it. AAA gold so you can tow it the whole way should something go bad. Check the axel, the stearing, The oil level
Metric wrenches, Jack, Spare tire, air pump,

Never recovered one myself but have one and have had problems. AAA gold or platinum is the way to go.

Welcome to the addiction.

Last edited:

swiss

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Welcome to SS: A couple things from a quick glance. There is more than a little body work on this one. You have both rockers gone, that means the floor will also have problems both front and rear and the rear tailgate. Nothing of course that can not be fixed with some time and effort. I would camp out in the CUCV section and start reading.

Have fun and be safe!

A trailer.