• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M1009 fuel tank in a 1028/1031???

MARCO1031

Has anyone ever installed a fuel tank from an M1009/K5 on an 1028/1031 or an M1008 for that matter? I would really like the extra 30+ gallons of fuel capacity when the zombie apocalypse happens.:grd:

Crash_AF

Anything's possible with enough ingenuity and determination... LOL

I have been told that the 1992 Chevy 3500 Cab and Chassis rear tank will bolt right in, but I have no first hand experience of said modification.

Later,
Joe

MARCO1031

Thanks for the info guys. I think its time to start looking for a good tank. Craigslist here I come:) Oh hey anyone here in FL have a tank that would work...with mounting brackets?

Last edited:

kapnklug

I've tried a similar modifiaction, putting a 79 blazer tank into a 79 longbed pickup (both gassers, but should be similar). It worked but it was a real PITA. Since the framerails of the pickup are about 4" narrower at the rear than the blazer, the seam of the tank actually goes inside the frame channel. Also, the curve of the pickup frame over the rear wheels means that the blazer tank doesn't sit completely level, and of course you'll need the filler neck from the blazer tank to reach the side of the truck and you'll need to fabricate a new bump-out for the filler neck in the side of the bed. You'll also need to fabricate new front and rear crossmembers to conform to the blazer tank, since it straps in front to back. I finally got it all to work, but I wish I hadn't started.

MARCO1031