• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M1009 Nocking really bad all of a sudden

tommyd

Hello,
Yesterday when I started her she was knocking pretty bad and loud, but on higher RPM it stops. But if I let off on the pedal its loud/knocking again. No prior issues.

It has 37K on it and was running like a top. Checked and replaced oil, checked for exhaust leaks, added injector cleaner, checked for loose or broken mounts and replaced air filter. Any suggestions?

I did some searches and all I could find was a broken fly wheel. Also the starter just started to skip a few times??? Am I on the right track? I am by no means a mechanic, but do my best. I was also thinking about a bad oil pump, but really don't have a clue. I really need to get this fixed, due to its my only means of transportation to work at this time.

Semper Fi,
Tommy

davidkroberts

yeah i had a very similar problem, It was a loose bendix in my starter. The bendix was knocking against the flywheel intermittently at lower rpms. The knocking didnt vary with the rpm they were pretty constant. When mine started to drag it failed after a few more weeks.

Replace your starter, I used a 12v stock GM starter and rewired it to the first battery instead of the 24v side. My problem stopped.

tommyd

Anyone have a 24v starter? I was also told to check flex plate and harmonic balancer. But how would you go about it? A starter would be a easy fix for me. To inspect flex plate, would I have to drop the tranny? Also how do check the harmonic balancer?

K10A

There is a cover on the trans you can remove to inspect the flexplate. The balancer