• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M1009 rear differential questions

justinwregier

At first the issue started as smoke which I posted about...
Then after the rear passenger Hub came off the adventure began.
Basically:

Needs new shoes for drums, not to bad but also there are

Bad wheel bearings, axle oil seals and worn/chipped rear diff gears hub to hub

Would there be a better route to go than piece by piece just to replace stock components? I have made inquiries about a rear end at Coleman's which is not to bad a price before the shipping charges. I have limited knowledge of this area of my M1009 in a sense of compatible rear end components.

At this point the truck is on jack stands supporting the rear end but if swapping in a new/refurbished rear end is better than individual parts what else may be worth getting into on the CUCV since it will be off the ground for a little while?

Loving the M1009 already enough to make the repairs and more but wow these trucks sure seem to be neglected a bit in their service life. Did the CUCVs have any combat time?

Learning as I go... :-D

Justin

73m819

Rock = older than dirt , GA. MAFIA , Dirty
Steel Soldiers Supporter
In Memorial
i would swap the total rear, there is a good chance that the axle snout is trashed if the bearings spun on the snout, with the hub comming off i would say that is the case

Westech

CPL