• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M101a1 Axle swap with electric brakes, retaining parking brakes

cberner

I am new to Steel Soldiers, as I just picked up a 1968 Case M101a1. I am fairly familiar with them from when I was in the Army during the 1990's, and I absolutely love how sturdy they are built and how useful they are. I am looking to increase the reliability and convenience factor by swapping the axle axle out with a modern (preferably 5,000lbs) axle with electric brakes and Chevy 6-lug wheel pattern, while retaining the parking brake capability. Looking to see if anyone on this forum has done this, and if so, if they can point me in the right direction with part numbers and/or vendors. If anyone knows of a company in the Pacific Northwest (around the Spokane area) that does this kind of work, even better!

Trailer has already been converted to 12 volt wiring with 7-pin connector.

Attachments

Last edited:

cberner

I have been replacing the screws that hold the wood rails to the metal stakes, as many of them were the improper ones anyway. I have about 24 of the original screws that are still good. If anyone needs these for your restoration, PM me. They are free to whoever needs them. Picture of screw attached.

20161103_161128_resized.jpg

pupmo

Which 3500lb axle are folks using on the M101A1's, the ones with 3" tubes or the standard 2 3/8" tubes?
Any special u-bolt kit if using the standard 2 3/8ths tubed 3500lb axle?

cberner