• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M1078 Engine Fan Issue

cavetech

My new truck has a fan problem that has me stumped. I have gone over the manuals again and again. I've got the parts memorized, but I ca't fix it.

When I was driving it home at 50-54 MPH I heard a loud intermittent noise and vibration. Had to almost crawl home because it wouldn't happen at slow speed.

Looking in the engine compartment with cab raised and engine off I could reach in and the whole cooling fan seemed loose and I could wobble it when I grabbed a hold of the plastic fan. I mean very loose and wobbly.

I studied the diagram of the fan assembly and clutch and figured the six bolts that hold the fan on had all fallen out. Today I unbolted the upper fan shroud and I can see in at the fan real well. All bolts seem to be there, the clutch assembly seems intact and everything tight. Except the cooling fan that I can grab and wobble a lot. Side to side and forward and back.

I am seriously in need of suggestions.

Could the fan be that loose by design? How do I stop the vibration?

Thanks, Steve

dmetalmiki

Surely if the blades are that loose, there is a bearing (bearings) in the assembly that is (are) worn out or loose? Keep us informed of the outcome of the checks dismantling and remedy.