• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M35 or M211 for a first deuce?

Brownac1983

Hey guys, I'm still on a quest for a good deal on a first deuce. I've been looking for about a year and just barely missed a few nice ones. Now I'm looking at 3 that seem to be pretty good deals, an M35A1, an M35A2 and an M211 gasser. I haven't been to look over any of them yet. I'm awaiting pictures. All things considered, and assuming no major issues with either and based on the limited info below, please advise which you would choose and why. I will say that I have extensive experience with gas engines but have never messed with diesels much, though I would like to learn. If I do go with an M35, I don't want the LDT, I want a smoker. Here is what I know about them so far:

M211 - 1951 model, original engine recently rebuilt, everything supposedly works, runs good but needs batteries and wheel cylinders

M35A1 - 1968 model, 36K miles, new 10x20 tires, has cab heater and winch, needs batteries

M35A2 - 1974 model, LD-465 engine, no winch, second from bottom here: http://www.whiteowl.com/25TONCLASSTRUCKS.html

Thanks in advance for any advice.
-Drew

Jeepsinker

Go with the m35 series. They are simple and more reliable than the gasser trucks. Also note that the M211 has twice as many wheel cylinders as the M35 trucks, and thus it will cost twice the money, take twice the maintenance, and twice the headache, and that's just on brakes. Also consider that parts are much more readily available for the M35. For your first truck... Definitely M35, and don't be afraid of the turbo.

ATPTac