• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M932/M1088 Fifth Wheel Height vs. commercial truck???

faithrider

Hello gentlemen,

I am a noob to this forum, and this is my first post.

I have never owned a military vehicle before, but am interested in a M932 or M1088 fifth wheel for personal weekend use. We camp nearly every weekend because we are into offroad motorcycle riding. So everywhere we go, we end up off the pavement on dirt roads and camping in pastures. I am getting tired of getting stuck in my diesel 4x4 pickup pulling our toy hauler fifth wheel camper. Therefore, I am contemplating purchasing a 6x6 to pull a Kentucky moving trailer (a commercial trailer with low deck height used to move homeowners furniture). I will wall off the first 15 feet of the Kentucky trailer, and convert that to living space. The rest of the trailer will be used for work benches and storage for the motorcycles and side by side ATV. An added benefit to the moving trailer is they have low deck height and side doors that can be opened to get ventilation moving through the trailer on hot days.

I realize these trucks are slow, noisy, and hot...but that is a small price to pay for the fact that a 6x6 should be able to get us out of our camping area if summer rains come through the area.