• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

making small batches of custom parts

jesusgatos

Here's the deal; I'm a product designer and... I'm building a Deuce. I'm going to make a lot of custom parts for it. A lot of those parts are going to be laser-cut sheetmetal parts. The kind of stuff that it's a shame to make only one/two of. So if anybody else is interested in any of this, let's talk. I can create SolidWorks models of all these parts and: 1) we can either share CAD files and all have parts cut locally, 2) have a batch of parts made and ship laser-cut parts in weld-it-yourself kits, 3) work with a company that might be interested in making/selling these parts to us as a finished product.

We already share a lot of parts-files like these here and have worked with a lot of companies to develop off-road products. I'm just sort of new to the MV market and don't even really know who all the players are, so I don't know who to talk to about designing/making/selling any of this stuff. Can I get some feedback on a few of the things that I've been thinking about lately? Some of this stuff IS being made or will be made (at least for my truck), but I'd like to get input from anyone that's interested.

modular rear bumpers
I've been thinking about adding a read bumper to Mah Deuce. Maybe I'll replace the bumperettes with something that wraps-around, like a formed wrap-around sheetmetal bumper or maybe some tubework. I'd like to protect the rear corners on my M109 box, and would probably turn that top surface into a step of some sort. This probably wouldn't be very useful on a regular truck, so there's a limited appeal.