• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

MEP-002a fuel check valve

edgephoto

I am a newbie here. Decided to buy one of the MEP-002a units for emergency backup power. I bought 2 units. My friend is taking one. My question is in regards to the fuel check valve. One unit does not have this check valve. The fuel line goes strait from the fuel filter assembly to the IP. I am sure I must have this check valve for it to start and run properly. Does anyone have some wisdom on this? Also if so a source for a replacement? Thanks.

RayK

I haven't checked with him, but Storeman is parting out some MEP's and might be able to help. I have plenty of check valves, but none are size five.

1800 Diesel

I just bought 3 MEP002As and 2 of them were missing the 1/4" pipe nipple, check valve and 90-degree JIC elbows. (I wonder if these were pilfered at the base or did the last maintenance crew just forget to reinstall them.) Anyway, I plan to install a commercial check valve (Airtex brand) Advance Auto #CV 8000 or NAPA AFP CV8000, price $12-$15 each. This piece is brass with female 1/4" NPT threads. (I have no idea how this valve relates to a size 5 mentioned in the post.) From this I will install two 90-degree elbows with 1/4" NPT to go into the check valve and at the other end 37-degrees JIC with a thread size to fit the existing fuel hoses--I believe its either 5/16" or 3/8". I brought the existing hose to NAPA today so I just matched the thread size to fit the JIC fitting on my hose.