• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Mild Power Adders

Thatwisebeardedguy

Hi all,

I know this question has been asked before: "I want to add power to my J-code 6.2." I've looked at various threads and everyone seems to have the same answer, which is the Banks Sidewinder Turbo kit. Banks makes a great product, but I'm not quite sure a turbo is what I'm after as I'm really only after a few more lb ft of torque, and not really after horse power. I want low end grunt not high end power. That said, anyone have any suggestions based on personal experience? I'm pretty new to diesel power adders as my M1009 is the first diesel I've owned. (I'm a recovering Mopar gas guy)

Thanks in advance!

firefox

General
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Swap it for an M1008 if you can. That will get you the low end torque you want.
It just wont have as much highway speed. Others will chime in with more data.

Thatwisebeardedguy

Same effect will be achieved when I granade my corp 10 bolts with the hwy 3.?? gearing and swap in a 14 bolt and dana 60 with 4.56's. Gearing isn't really an issue. I'm taking more about egine power.

nyoffroad

Same effect will be achieved when I granade my corp 10 bolts with the hwy 3.?? gearing and swap in a 14 bolt and dana 60 with 4.56's. Gearing isn't really an issue. I'm taking more about egine power.
Advance the pump timing, turn the pump up, a 70R4 swap. All have been discussed here many times Gearing has a direct effect on 'felt horsepower'

porkysplace

Steel Soldiers Supporter
These are low powered engines , diesels get power from air and fuel , they get too much they get hot and wreck things.
They are not like gas motors where higher compression pistions and cams crank up power.

https://auto.howstuffworks.com/diesel1.htm