• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

My new winch

USMC4302

Arrived this weekend. It still had a truck attached to it, though.

I have an M-37-B1 truck W/W that didn't have it's winch. I found a decent donor vehicle. and now I have to figure out what I need to do to rejuvenate this Braden winch. The level that engages/disengages the winch is stuck. I soaked it down with PB Blaster this after noon and am letting it sit. Noob here -- What else should I take a look at/inspect before I tear into this and start removing the winch to move it to the other truck?

And yes, we have already covered the fact that my "good" truck is actually an Army truck painted in Marine Crops colors. How do you think we Marines make up our T/O shortfalls?? (hint: Army Gear Adrift ... :) Semper Fi!)

Thanks!

parts-truck.jpgwinch.jpg

NDT

Steel Soldiers Supporter
The shaft of the engagement lever tends to rust tight, work it back and forth with the PB Blaster and it should free up. Otherwise it's just a matter of how far you want to take it. New seals thoughout, or just paint it and run it with John Deere cornhead grease. Try to save the DCPD bolts if you can.

USMC4302

Good info -- Thanks!

BTW -- a good soaking with PB Blaster over night and a couple of taps with the rubber mallet this morning and it moved fine.

USMC4302

Is there a recommended procedure for getting the winch free of the PTO shaft or the PTO shaft off of the PTO? I removed the set bolt from the u-joint yoke at the winch end and I've tried sliding the shaft out of the yoke at the PTO end, but nothing is moving freely and I don't want to start banging on anything. Do I have to disassemble the u-joints? I don't really want to do that if if I don't have to...

Thanks

TGP (IL)