• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

New Guy

Steve1031

Hi everyone! Noob here. I just bought a 1986 M1031 today. I have a couple of questions. First, is this truck worth more with the big box on the back? Reason I am asking, I would like to put a regular pick up bed on the back. Is this a no-no in the eyes of the collector types? Secondly, this truck seems to have some of what I call "torque steer" When you are cruising down the road at light throttle, then floor it, the truck veers to the left. If you take your foot off the gas, it veers to the right. Basically, any sudden change in throttle, the truck is all over the road. I thought maybe the axles were loose on the springs, but they look ok. Granted, it has been many years since I was a 63B, but I do not remember these things driving this way. Thank you all for your advise and I will be searching this wonderful site!

Steve

1986 M1031

davidkroberts

welcome...

and its your truck dude, do whatever makes you happy you dont have to answer to anyone except yourself and maybe the wife. As far as the truck shifting on you Ive never heard about that happening, are the bushings worn out?

4bogginchevys

my 1008 was doing that just last week, it was my draglink...loose in the "socket" on both ends. I suspect that a loose stearing box (old and tired) could also be the problem sometimes. Mine started doing it about a week after I greased it....must have pushed out the only support left! While your there have a buddy shake the steering wheel and give it a good once over on the tie-rod. Good luck:-D

Scarecrow1

Welcome and hello ,