• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

New to me MEP-002a Bath

BobbyT

Hey guys, I'm new to military generators, but I'm pretty technical/mechanical minded. I just obtained an 81' model 002a with ASK through GL, no idea of its internal condition. I have the ASK removed, everything looks to be in great shape, nothing obviously broken or missing and wiring looks brand new behind the panels.
When it warms up to above freezing around here, i plan on soaking it with degreaser and pressure washing it. My question is, are there any certain things i should be aware of when cleaning?
I know the obvious, like not going after the gauges and areas like that, but anything with the gen head or motor area to watch out for?

As soon as it's clean I'm going to change all filters, go through the fuel tank and all lines. Tank is actually really clean, hardly any surface rust, just discoloration from years of fuel.

Isaac-1

If you pressure wash the generator end it is important to get all the moisture out before starting it, this is best done by placing a tarp over it and putting a heater or heat lamp under the tarp for several days preferably when it is low humidity. There are also a few parts I would watch out for, like the centrifugal switch and the governor mechanism (both mounted on /through the fan shroud near the oil filter) and of course the air intake / exhaust.

Crawdaddy

If you pressure wash the generator end it is important to get all the moisture out before starting it
Why is this the case for pressure washing and not just sitting out in the rain? I don't intend to pressure wash my 003, but it does live outside in the sun and rain as of now.

BobbyT