• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Newbie Here

brock

Hello Everyone!

I am looking to buy a surplus M923A2 that doesnt run and has less than 400 miles on the ODO.

I like the low mileage but as the truck is a 1990 Im worried about deterioration of components in the engine, transmission/drivetrain and fuel system. The truck is really clean and complete.

What should I look for? How much is the truck worth? What are the possible issues that could need to be addressed when reviving the truck? Where do I get parts?

Any and all information will be welcomed. As it stated in the title, I am a newbie.

Thank you in advance for all the info.

MtnSnow

I would highly suggest finding a local SS member who is familiar with the truck your looking at and have them help look it over. The Odometer was probably reset/replaced so that may or may not reflect actual mileage of the truck and or engine/etc.

Anyways...Welcome to your future addiction to big green iron!

brock

How would I locate a SS member in my area?

Why would they reset/replace the speedometer? The truck shows 18 hours as well. Would they have replaced both at the same time?

These trucks are so cool and inexpensive to purchase. I can't wait to get my hands on one!

Trailboss

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Welcome!..I suggest you skim through the Government Liquidation/DRMO/GSA subforum threads to learn that what you see with military surplus is not always what you get. There are some real good deals out there, but education will reduce the chance you will pay too much for what may be a pile of scrap metal.

MtnSnow

Why would they reset/replace the speedometer? The truck shows 18 hours as well. Would they have replaced both at the same time?