• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Niehoff 28V 400A type 76761-N1601 Generator Complete Disassembly/Assembly Instructions

Jake59

Hello,

Looking for a complete disassembly and assembly instruction for NIEHOFF Generator of type 76761 ?

I am having difficulty removing the bearing cover on the pulley side as it seems to jam on the bearing or something?
Do I need to use a bearing puller to get this cover off?
Any helpfull advice welcome.

Also, what kind of generator are these? I can see a stator on both sides and a solid iron core with 6 peaks mounted on the anker, so how does this then generate power? I am not an electrical engineer, so a simple common langauge street smart reply would be most appreciated.

Thank you for all your help,
Jake

Mogman

Staff member
Steel Soldiers Supporter
A brushless alternator uses a fixed (non rotating) field and stator windings similar to how an induction AC motor works, the fixed field winding induces a magnetic field in the rotor which in turn induces output current in the stator windings, many use two stator windings one for the field and one for the output and others use one stator winding and an external "exciter" current, most of the automotive type use an external exciter current. the dual voltage Niehoff alternators use two stator windings to deliver 28 and 14V.
Can't speak directly to your alt. but unless it has a retaining snap ring behind the front pulley the rotor should slide out of the bearing that said it may be a tight fit, be careful not to damage the front plate

Last edited:

Jake59