• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

NV4500 Swap with part numbers

So a few weeks after I bought my M1009 the TH400 took a crap. I figured no better time to swap to a NV4500. I searched SS here and about every other forum about trucks and off-roading I could find. Could not find a detailed write up about any modifications or part numbers needed to complete the swap.(as far as I could see) Most info I found usually was along the lines of “oh yea with that adapter it all bolts right up!”(what adapter!) So I've decided to lay down everything I've found along theway including part numbers so you don't have to guess. I am busy withwork lately but I will add to this article as often as I have sparetime. Please pardon my grammar/ Spelling I'm a mechanic not a deskjockey.

I will be out lining a Automatic TH400/NP208 swap to a Manual NV4500/NP208 with stockstyle GM (1973-1984) mechanical clutch linkage instead of hydraulic (1985-UP). In a 1984 K5 M1009. Using the original T-case and as many off the shelf GM stock parts as possible. Most parts can be scavenged from a junkyard or purchased from either NAPA or LMC truck.

Trans: is a 1993-1995 GM 4WD NV4500 that has the 5.125 dia. Bearing retainer with a long throw-outbearing snout identical to the SM-465 input shaft and bearing retainer snout. 1996 and up transmissions have a 5.6” dia. Bearing retainer and no throw out bearing snout.
1993 1995.jpg1995 up.jpg

Bellhousing: I used an Advanced Adapters #712577 bellhousing (1993-1995) not to be confused with #712576 (1996-up)

-Also AA #715534 bracket (the AA bellhousing is not tapped for the bell crank ball stud)

(a complete list of parts and numbers will come at the end)