• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Oil Pressure in 5 ton Gasser

dfanders

I have a 1953 M52 5 Ton semi with a Continental 6602 gas engine. She starts fine, and the oil pressure is good. After running her on the road for approx 20 minutes, the oil pressure begins to drop. over teh course of approx 10 minutes of driving, the pressure gauge drops to 10 PSI and i get a red indicator light. Truck shows no other signs of oil pressure issues( that i can tell) when this happens.
If you let it site for 30 minutes and cool down, when you re-start the oil pressure is back to normal.
I am new to this truck. This had happened with the previous owner , and he suspected a bad oil pressure sender?
If i go the route of replacing the sender , which is the correct part? Should I also replace the gauage?

I was thinking of taking it to a mechanic who works on 5 tons. I am concerned that when teh oil gets warm , it is leaking past seals & valves. If you know the gasser engine, you know that i can't just look back ato tell if i am blowing the correct color smokle from burinng oil...the gasser engine burns so much gas that it is always blowing cloud of white smoke behind it !!

Thanks,
David

Thoughts?

Attachments

m139h2otruck

When we first started our truck, the gauge was NG, so I installed a cheap VIP import direct gauge w/ nylon tube and hung it from the wiper. It would run @ about 60+ psi, until good and warmed up and then drop to 25-30 or so at idle and 60 more or less at speed. The electric sender/gauge on these trucks can not always be trusted.

m139h2otruck