• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Possible Upgrade for A3? 3176 cat( 330 hp )

smoke

Hi guys and gals
I'm a newbie.I been on here reading up on the topics. My question is would a 3176 cat .( I do believe it was for 5 ton group) that was what it said in auction preview anyway. fit in a A3? I do believe it is same liters as 3116 7.2. But rated at 330 hp.(256kw) compared to 170 hp 3116. I thought would a big improvement in Hp. Plus it would make the A2 guys and gals :drool::drool: because they couldn't keep up.lol I don't have anything right now on fence about what to get A2 or A3. A buddy of mine has A2 that I helped get running. But i like the ideal of power steering ( i'm not getting any younger) and not having a stick( I had 96 dodge I put 346000 miles on it. it was 5spd the syukill expressway killed me in traffic everyday When she finally give up the ghost I replaced her with 01 automatic) But it not going to be everyday truck so I guess could handle stick. Sorry I'm rambling on and on.

So what do you think will it work? Maybe 3176 and for A2 guys put a stick behind it for the overdrive.

Nonotagain

The 3116 CAT's big brother is the 3126 rated at 330 hp.

Without doing some research, I think you might have miss-read the nomenclature.

While HP is nice, the A3 is limited not by HP but RPM.

CatMan

3176 Cat

The 3176 is a much larger engine the the 3116 and 3126. The 3176 is a 10 liter displacement engine. 3(1.7 liter per cylinder X)6.