• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Rausch Creek Battle Damage Report

Opie

I've hit two snags post-offroading and would like to submit them for comment/criticism.

My major issue is the heating system. Following my EMT and nursing training, I've been told to trust what I see first, and then the instruments. That said, coming home from the trail ride, my truck was warmed up without external signs of boiling over (coolant outside of the radiator on the engine or the overflow drain). No drop in coolant level was noted, either. The temp gague was reading 220 and the radiator and hoses were warm/hot to the touch. :( Running to the event the temp was registering around 200. A new thermostat had been recently installed, and I have a new coolant temperature sensor to install. Coolant was a brownish color with some brownish rubbery chunky stuff found in the radiator cap. The radiator system was treated with the caustic cleanser and refilled with the proper diesel coolant (I'd previously apparently used automotive coolant in error.) Back on the road, temp again rose to 220 and stayed there. No cold weather front or other radiator blocking device was used.

I expect I need to change the sensor, get the truck up to this operating temp and sample the coolant with a candy thermometer to see if the coolant is indeed that temperature (while being sure not to be scalded). I'll also want to install a coolant filter (and that darn cab heater which is still in the box...).

Of lesser concern is that both of my headlights (new halogen ones a la CGarbee) have lost power at the bulbs (Checked by No.2 Diesel's brother Rob, an electrician). Is there a wiring trouble spot between the 3 lever switch and the front of the truck?