• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Received 2002 M1097A2 for firetruck build - looking for advice

draymorris

Anything we should do to improve?
How well will it do fully loaded or should we make sure we don't?

I downloaded the manuals already. But I am new to military vehicles. I usually work on gensets and manlifts and other equipment, but it looks like I will be the main mechanic on our little fire dept. We are supposed to turn this into a fire fighter within 180 days. It runs fine according to someone else who drove it - he said the temp guage showed hot when powered up - so I guess that is the first thing on the list.

mgFray

Steel Soldiers Supporter
My advice, check all the glow plugs, change all the fluids, looked around (especially under the hood in the lighting compartments and above the steering shaft in the dash) for chaffed wiring that needs to be fixed, check the portal axle nuts, make sure you have good tires and wheels on it.

If it doesn't seem right, it probably isn't. I had more then one person tell me something was 'normal' on my 1988 M998 (base model), where after some investigation and fixing turns out it needed repair and now works MUCH MUCH better. The TMs are really good about the diagnostics, and the people here have a lot of knowledge to learn from. (And I'm sure you've already seen this. Stay away from certain ebay parts, especially glow plugs, most are counterfit and will fail pretty quickly. Look for reputable sellers, MacMotors, Kascar/Real4wd, Eastern Surplus, SECO, AM General, etc....)

NDT

Steel Soldiers Supporter