• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Recomended Fuel For Multi-Fuel Engine?

Status
Not open for further replies.

delta5

Hi guys,

Im kinda new to the M35 (drove them in Army reserve unit back in 80's) but am new to how the multi-fuel works. Are you able to mix different things like waste oil etc at the same time? or do you just run one thing or another in it? Can you run just straight diesel fuel? A quick rundown would really be appreciated here, as I am looking to buy one shortly.

Thanks,

Richard

3dAngus

My deuce gets little use, so I like to throw in some gasoline and oil mix just to help keep down on the diesel sludge and growth from the diesel microbial growth or algae.

I cannot positive say it help, but I do know it doesn't hurt and it sure makes me feel better. The best thing you can do, whatever fuel you use, is to run it regularly and use up all the fuel. I'm guilty of NOT doing so. I just have to many vehicles, so the best I can do is to keep most of them running. The fuels recommended are in the Tech manual for the deuce, but they only list a half dozen or so of them.
The general rule is, you can burn almost anything that can burn, period, but on some fuels like gas, you need to add clean oil to keep the cylinders lubricated. Also, it is not recommended you use gas alone except in purely emergency conditions when you need to bugout and there is no other options. It is to strong and it might run hot, thus, add some clean oil to assist, but get your clean diesel in as soon as is possible. I never run more then 20% gas in mine. That should be enought to blow out any pipes and keep the diesel restored.

Diesel additives are the best, however. Just very expensive.

doghead

4 Star General /Moderator
Staff member