• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Replacing Front Leaf Springs - M1009

DavidJBlythe

I'm very new to suspension items...

I have some basic questions that I would love to have answered if you could:

1. My front leaf springs need to be replaced. I would like to replace them with OEM replacements for now. The manual tells me that the GM part number is 460354. Does anyone know how much arch or lift this part has? Advance Auto doesn't seem to have it but has a lot available with different lifts. I don't want to order the wrong one.

2. The bottom of the truck is rusted. While I'm replacing the leaf springs, what other parts get replaced? Bushings? U-Bolts? I have NO idea. Right now, my plan is to just order two leaf springs and reuse all other parts because I don't know what parts are commonly replaced while doing this kind of work.

Please help me to order what I will need, that way when I start turning wrenches, I won't find out that I'm missing something. From reading other leaf spring related posts, they seem to take off on tangents and never directly answer the question. Thanks for any help! My main goal is to just get the truck fixed with the right parts!

original

I replaced mine a few weeks ago. Had them made at a mining repair shop. Any 1 ton rated spring that lines up will work. Arc and lift are prefrences. Advanced auto should have a diagram that shows how to measure arc and lift. Replace anything and everything rubber especially the leaf spring bushings and frame bushings (go poly). Inspect your spring hangers for cracks or rust deterioration and replace if necessary. It would be a good idea to replace the U bolts. Good luck removing the hanger bolts, I had a rough time getting the ones out of the frame.

DavidJBlythe