• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Strange problem.

swindad2

Okay, first off let me say, this will probably sound dumb to the pros on here, but I am confused. I am new to the deuces and still learning. So I noticed after driving the truck and shutting the engine off, you can hear what sounds like the oil draining and dripping back into the oil pan. I haven't given it much thought till today.

I have been slowly losing brake fluid. I found a loose line on the air pack a couple weeks ago and tightened it, but I am still losing fluid. Okay no big deal I will trace the lines and check the wheel cylinders again. I climbed up under the truck just after shutting her down today and went back to the air pack. I could hear what sounded like dripping inside the master cylinder, but the dripping in the oil pan was so loud I couldn't tell. I climbed back out and drained the air from the tanks, and then, total silence, no dripping sounds, not even from the engine. So I thought, okay that has to be a coincidence. I cranked her back up let the air pressure build, and same thing: loud dripping noises in the engine. Let the air back out of the tanks, and silence again. What the heck? Surely the air pressure has no influence on the engine. What are your thoughts?

porkysplace

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Hopefully you plan on parking the truck until the brake fluid leak is fixed. The leak may be in the air-pac / master cylinder with the sounds you describe .

welldigger

The dripping sound you hear is oil flowing back to the oil pan. Completely normal. Check the vent tube under the hood near the air cleaner and firewall. If brake fluid is present then your airpak is bad. Though this test doesn't mean it isn't leaking internally.

NDT