• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Stuck wipers on M923A0

manders

I'm brand new to this hobby and I know I'm smart enough to know when I'm not smart enough ... if you know what I mean. ;-}

I won a M923 back in October, but pretty much just parked it once I got it home awaiting for the New Year so I could title it as a collector vehicle.

It's stored a few miles from home in a locked yard that isn't open on the weekends, which has severely limited my ability to get anything done. Aside from visits every week or so to make sure it started and the batteries were in good shape, all I've done is install a keyed switch and a padlock hasp on the passenger-seat/battery compartment.

When I recovered it, the wipers were 'anemic'. There is no detectable air leak and they worked "better" the longer they ran which makes me think maybe a wiper motor tune-up/rebuild was the best recipe. I figured this would be my first Spring task, seeing as I live in the 'sunny' PNW and having working wipers falls under the "a good thing to have" category. ;-}

Following WP0732, I got as far as step 3 - remove knurled drive ... ruh-roh! That thing is rusted on tight and would not budge.

Short of taking a hack saw to the motor shaft ... can anyone recommend a different way to get the motor off? I have the "new style" air motor so I don't know if anything is even "user" serviceable or if I just need to find a working replacement.

So anyway ... all hints and guidance are always welcome and appreciated.

Thanks.

MAnders.

61sleepercab