• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Thinking of buying a halftrack

emptyhead

Hi guy's new member here. I have always been interested in halftracks as a kid and finally decided to start saving money. I mange to scrape about 4500 together so far.I was thinking of buying one of Gary's m2 or m3a1's as a starting point. I am not a mechanical wizard but work on medium sized cutting equipment[lawn] and tractors at work. How hard are they to work on, what would the cost of shipping be for something such as this to NY from some place like Il. I figure about 3 to 4 years minimum. How much money after the investment in a starter vehicle. Do you guys know of anyvehicles that might be closer. Excellent web site. I think it's going to cost me alot of sleepless nights and money if I take the plunge.

FrankUSMC

You might want to start out on some thing small or some thing that is easy to get parts for....like a M35A2 or a jeep.
I own a very complete M2 and I have had a M3 before. They are heavy, you will need a truck with a heavy trailer to move them around, unless you have alot of land to play on. Also, if you brake a track, there is no repairing it, read "$$$.."
Shop around, you might find one cheaper, they do pop up. Good luck.
One of the few, Frank USMC RET

emptyhead

Thanks devil dog. I understand that the treads are expensive. I don't want to dump money in something else if I can help it. Also I don't think I can convince the wife into more then one vehicle. I'm still working on her with this idea. Also do you know anyone in my area that I can bang heads with about miltary vehicles.I'm about 15 miles north of the city. Thanks devil dog.

Last edited:

FrankUSMC

Go to G503.com