• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Thunderbird's M923A2 thread

Thunderbird

Hi Guys,

Well, it looks like I'm the winner of one of the M923A2 trucks which closed last Thursday 10/17 at Nellis AFB in Las Vegas. I mailed a bank check to GL on Friday, and since they're only 100 miles from me, I anticipate that they will switch my invoice to 'paid' either later today or tomorrow. Once that happens, I'll have to arrange to go pick up the truck. :-D

The truck itself appeared to be in really good condition, both in the photos and video on the GL website. Even looks like it has 3/4 tank of diesel left. No I haven't seen the truck in person. Yes, I realize I'm in for an adventure! Even though I'm an engineer by trade, I put myself through school driving trucks and have maintained my CDL all these years, so I might be a little ahead of the game there. Maybe not!

My plan, if all goes well, is to go pick it up Tues 10/29 and drive it back to Tucson (a distance of 420 miles from my house). I will likely fly up, cross my fingers that the Gods are smiling on me and that the planets are all aligned, and simply drive it home. I could also drive my pickup up with a bunch of tools, however, I'd have to then find someplace to put the pickup for a few days until I could fly back to get it. It would be great if I could get someone from Tucson to go with me, but my friends all have day jobs and don't really want to take the time off to go on another one of my crazy adventures... :jumpin:

I've downloaded all the TM's from the SS site. Thanks to everyone who made those possible!

All that being said, the purpose of this thread is to document my acquisition and recovery process, and then later to document any repairs or upgrades that I make to the truck.