• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Transfer Case Q's

firecontrol86

I was doing some stuff with the m1009, and noticed a little puddle of what I'm guessing is ATF on the trans skid plate. Couple questions:

1. I followed the wetness up to what(excuse the noobness) I think is the output shaft for the front axle. A seal maybe? I can't figure out where it's leaking from as there are no visible cracks. This is my first diesel/4x4 so I'm really new to transfer cases and what to look for so if anyone can help me narrow down what to check I'd appreciate it.

2. I remove the flexplate cover am I going to lose any trans fluid?

I took a picture of where the leak seems to be originating. See below:

(for s#!*$ and giggles I took a pic of my recently painted hubs too)

Attachments

bronconut

that is a front out put seal, to change it, drain t-case , remove front drive shaft from t-case and front axle, then remove large nut from t-case yolk, remove yolk remove seal then install new seal. assemble in reverse. dont forget to refill t-case. i just did mine, seems who ever put the last one in installed it backwards. the seal lip should be facing out and the spring in. i put grease all around the inside by the spring, this seems to hold the spring in place when you are tapping seal in.

firecontrol86

So you think it's probably that seal then? I'm just curious since I drive this to work everyday I don't want to take it off the road any more than I have to. Sounds simple enough though. Do you happen to know the part # for the seal? I found a seal on saturn surplus that just says "Transfer seal". I wonder if it's the same seal for both front and rear?

Last edited:

Elwenil